The Iron Cupcake

Food, design, fun stuff.

Birthday Fritters

4 Comments

Today’s my birthday. Yeaaaayyyyy!

Normally my beautiful and awesomely talented wife would bake me a cake (something she’s very gifted at doing, hence the name of this site.) But this year, I saw that Cook’s Country (aka the America’s Test Kitchen folks enjoying a sunny vacation in Vermont) released an apple fritter recipe, I had to try it. Thus, in lieu of cake, I decided to make birthday fritters. (They’re basically little deep-fried cakes, so, close enough.

Again, I took these photos on the fly with my iPhone, in the interest of time. It called for Granny Smith apples, but we had an overflow of other types from our apple picking in the Hudson Valley adventure a couple weeks ago, so I used the tartest of those—Empires. They were quite a bit smaller than the grannies they used, so I used 4 instead of two.

20120929-235131.jpg

Peel ’em, chop ’em into 1/4 inch pieces, and dry on paper towels.

20120929-225146.jpg

Mix up the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and freshly ground nutmeg.

20120929-225311.jpg

Throw in the apples,

20120929-225349.jpg

And toss to coat with the dry ingredients. This is meant to soak up any more moisture from the apples and prevent wet fritters.

20120929-225520.jpg

Then put together the liquid portion, which is apple cider, eggs and melted butter.

20120929-225641.jpg

Toss it with the apple/flour mixture till it’s sort of pasty and sticks together well.

20120929-225816.jpg

Meanwhile, assemble the glaze. Confectioners sugar, cider, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

20120929-225945.jpg

Mix till it’s pretty and looking like what it is: autumn-flavored liquid sweetness.

20120929-231955.jpg

Now the fun part, and you need to work pretty quick here. Heat some oil in a Dutch oven to 350, and fry the fritters in 1/3 cupfuls. Once you get them in the oil, you need to press them down with the back of a spoon so they flatten out a little and cook evenly. Just a couple minutes per side and you’re good.

20120929-230350.jpg

Then cool on a rack for a few minutes,

20120929-230425.jpg

And add a heaping teaspoon of glaze into each one.

20120929-230513.jpg

Feast your eyes.

20120929-230600.jpg

They’re basically donuts, minus the holes, with big bits of apple in them. And they are seriously good, and just what I wanted on this lovely day in early autumn. Happy birthday to me!

Speaking of donuts, and my birthday, my parents gave me this lovely vessel of liquid bliss:

20120929-231204.jpg

Yes, that says “Bacon Maple Ale.” It’s got an image of a dude drinking a frosty pint in front of a flag with pigs and maple leaves. And it’s presented in a piggie-pink bottle. This is going to be fun.

Author: Iron Cupcake Design

We're a husband and wife team of graphic designers. We love raising our two boys, cooking, gardening, and of course, baking cupcakes!

4 thoughts on “Birthday Fritters

  1. Now thats my kind of Birthday Cake. They look delicious yum

  2. They look AWESOME, I want Bithday Fritters. Yum. and the Maple Bacon Beer yum.

  3. Happy Belated Ty!!! Sorry I missed you on your big day, but I have been in a work vortex!! These fritters look out of this world!! Loving all the posts!! Cheers! Channing

  4. Thanks!! They didn’t last long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

